Teaching Justice Webinar Series

A project of CLEA's Best Practices Committee

What is the Teaching Justice Webinar Series?

The Teaching Justice Webinar series highlights new experiential approaches to teaching justice in the classroom, drawing on the wisdom of the current resistance movement and examining its intersections within a number of areas of law. This series explores the theory behind experiential faculty’s decision-making processes during an intense political movement, asking the question, “How do we show up as lawyers and teachers?” Presenters hope to develop a shared vocabulary and a deeper understanding of what it means to be a lawyer, whether we consider ourselves movement lawyers, rebellious lawyers, or transformative lawyers. 

Upcoming Webinar Sessions:

October 30, 2020, Beyond the Carceral State: Critically Teaching Criminal Law & Criminal Procedure

1pm EST/ 12pm CST/11am MST/10am PST, Amna Akbar (Ohio State University Moritz College of Law) and Jocelyn Simonson (Brooklyn Law School)

November 18, 2020, Teaching Critical Lawyering

1pm EST/ 12pm CST/11am MST/10am PST, Denisse Córdova Montes & Caroline S. Bettinger-López (University of Miami Law School)

February 25, 2021, Lawyering Across Silos for Community Equity

1pm EST/ 12pm CST/11am MST/10am PST, Deborah Archer (NYU Law School) & Kele Stewart (University of Miami)

March 15, 2021, Teaching Justice through Abolition

12pm EST/11am CST/10am MST/9am PST, Alexis Hoag (Columbia Law School) 


Past Teaching Justice Webinars:

Teaching Justice by Keeping Families Together

January 23, 2020

Taught by Erin Miles Cloud (Movement for Family Power) & Bobbi Butts (Starting Over Inc.)



Teaching Environmental Justice Through Transactional Law

December 12, 2019

Taught by Camille Pannu (UC Irvine School of Law, Community and Economic Development Clinic)


Teaching Racial Justice

June 26, 2019 

Taught by Jyoti Nanda (UCLA School of Law, Youth & Justice Clinic) and Mary Yanik (Tulane Law, Immigration Practicum and Senior Staff Attorney, New Orleans Workers' Center for Racial Justice


Teaching Justice through Misdemeanor Defense

April 9, 2019 

Taught by M. Eve Hanan (UNLV, Boyd School of Law), Robin Walker Sterling (Denver, Sturm College of Law), Rachal Moran (University of St. Thomas School of Law), and Anne Traum (UNLV, Boyd School of Law).


Teaching Justice in the Context of Immigrants’ Rights

December 6, 2018

Taught by Annie Lai, Clinical Professor of Law and Co-Director of the Immigrant Rights Clinic at the University of California, Irvine School of Law, and Sameer Ashar, Vice Dean for Experiential Education and Professor of Law, UCLA. 

Download the powerpoint presentation used during the December 6th webinar here.


Shifting Power througTransformative Lawyering in Community Economic Development

September 26, 2018 

Taught by Renee Hatcher, Assistant Professor of Law and Director of the Business Enterprise Law Clinic at The John Marshall Law School, Alicia Alvarez (Michigan Law), Dorcas Gilmore (Univ. of Maryland Law), and Susan Bennett (American University – WCL).


For questions about this series please contact the co-directors of the webinar series sub-committee, Laila Hlass lhlass@tulane.edu or Allison Korn korn@law.ucla.edu.



_________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Terms of ServicePrivacy Policy  |  Site Map  

© 2011 Clinical Legal Education Association 

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software