CLEA Committees - 2022

ABA and Bar Standards Advocacy

Co-Chairs: Kendall Kerew and Joy Radice

Committee Members:  Lynnise Pantin, Andy Budzinski, Serge Martinez, Caitlin Barry, Lauren Bartlett, Davida Finger, Melina Healey, Kate Kruse, Robert Kuehn, Mary Lynch, Alex Scherr, Ian Weinstein, and Sarah Wolking

This Committee advocates in a variety of external venues on issues of importance to clinical legal education. Its work includes tracking proposals in the ABA and state bar commissions that regulate and affect legal education and clinical legal education. In addition, the ABA and Bar Standards Advocacy Committee coordinates CLEA's public comments and creates an organized and multi-faceted response on issues affecting legal education.


Co-Chairs: Jane Stoever and Serge Martinez

Committee Members:  Esther Park, D’lorah Hughes, Anju Gupta, Thiadora Pina, and Tameka Lester

The primary responsibility of the Awards Committee is to solicit nominations for and select the recipients of three awards: (1) Outstanding Advocate for Clinical Teachers; (2) Excellence in a Public Interest Case or Project; and (3) Outstanding Student (one student per law school). The Committee also periodically reviews the eligibility requirements and rules for the awards and proposes changes, as needed.

Best Practices in Pedagogy

Co-ChairsBenjie Louis and Lauren Rogal 

Committee Members:  Kaci Bishop, Melanie Daily, Davida Finger, Laila Hlass, Carrie Kaas, Allison Korn, Mary Lynch, Shanda Sibley and Emily Suski, Anna Cominsky, Megan Bess, and Thiadora Pina

The Best Practices Committee was formed shortly after CLEA’s 2007 publication of Best Practices for Legal Education. The Committee commissioned a second Best Practices book, Building on Best Practices: Transforming Legal Education in a Changing World, which was published by LexisNexis in 2015. The committee continues share best practices in pedagogy to the experiential community through webinars, conferences, trainings and online resources.


Chair:  Michael Murphy

Committee Members Jeff Baker, Kathryn Banks, Darryl Walton, Lauren Godshall, Gautam Hans, and Jodi Balsam (on sabbatical spring 2022)

This Communications Committee is charged with proposing and developing CLEA’s communications policies and strategies, utilizing a variety of modes that currently include the organization’s website, Facebook page, Newsletter and Best Practices Blog.


Chair:  Kara Finck and Llezlie Green

Committee MembersJeffrey Pokorak, Bob Probasco, and Margaret Johnson 

The Conference Committee oversees the application process for organizations that seek support for regional and national conferences. In 2017, pursuant to the Strategic Plan, the Conference Committee will be charged with undertaking several new initiatives, in collaboration with the Communications and Best Practices in Pedagogy Committees.

Faculty Equity and Inclusion

Co-Chairs Alexis Karteron and Julia Hernandez

Committee MembersNeha Lall, Priya Baskaran, Jennifer Fernandez, Crystal Grant, Anju Gupta, Shobha Mahadev, Gautam Hans, and Lynnise Pantin

The Committee on Faculty Equity and Inclusion is tasked with proposing ways to reverse the diversity crisis within clinical legal education. The Committee will work to raise and educate various stakeholders about the lack of racial/ethnic diversity among clinical professors and propose avenues for change.


Chair: Crystal Grant

Committee Members:  Lauren Bartlett, Shobha Mahadev, and June Tai

The Elections Committee is a mandatory committee of CLEA and is responsible for carrying out the elections requirements in CLEA’s bylaws. Under the bylaws, the Elections Committee is responsible for soliciting nominations, verifying eligibility of candidates and voters, creating and distributing ballots, overseeing the ballot count, and certifying and announcing election results.


Co-ChairsCarrie Kaas and June Tai

Committee Members:  Neha Lall, Jodi Balsam, Dena Bauman, Eden Harrington, D’lorah Hughes, Kate Devlin Joyce, Kendall Kerew, Denise Platfoot Lacey, Melissa Redmon, Meg Reuter, and Amy Sankaran 

The Externship Committee advocates on behalf of CLEA and its members with respect to issues related to field placement programs. For example, together with CLEA’s ABA and Bar Standards Advocacy Committee, the Externship Committee represents CLEA in connection with ABA accreditation standards and state bar admissions requirements that have an impact on field placement programs. In addition, the Committee promotes increased awareness within the legal education community about the similarities, differences, and overlap between externships and law clinics.

Externship Conference Support

Committee MembersD’lorah Hughes, Jodi Balsam, and Eden Harrington


Co-Chairs: Sarah Shalf and Neha Lall

Committee MembersKathryn Banks, Llezlie Green, Caitlin Barry, Esther Park, Alexis Karteron, and Tameka Lester

The Membership Committee serves as the liaison between the CLEA board’s work and CLEA members. The committee updates the status of its members every year and responds to members’ comments and questions with respect to CLEA’s work. The committee also prepares membership materials, and helps members stay connected to the work of the organization and members of the clinical community.

New Clinicians

Chair: Praveen Kosuri and Gowri Krishna

Committee Members:  Kathryn Banks, Crisanne Hazen, Praveen Kosuri, Nickole Mille, Sue Schechter, Shanda Sibley, Anita Sinha, Kele Stewart, Wendy Vaughn, and Paul Radvany

The primary work of the New Clinicians Committee is to offer support, orientation, and an introduction to clinical education to those who are new to clinical teaching. Committee members plan and present CLEA’s New Clinicians Conference every two years (in odd years), before the start of the AALS Clinical Conference, and developed a series of workshops designed for new clinicians during the two most recent national Externships Conferences. Working with CLEA’s Advocacy Training Committee, the New Clinicians Committee will continue to explore other ways in which it might help to educate and train new clinicians.


Chair:  Ron Hochbaum

Committee MembersNickole Miller and Susan Donovan

The CLEA Newsletter Committee publishes two issues each year. Besides featuring reports on CLEA's advocacy work and announcing clinicians' good news, including promotions, new arrivals, transitions, awards, honors, books and publications, the committee aims to publish shorter articles on clinical teaching and creative writing on social justice topics, and evolve into a venue where clinicians can publish shorter articles that might count towards tenure requirements in schools that recognize broader definitions of "scholarship" for clinicians.

Per Diem

Chair:  Leigh Goodmark

Committee MembersGowri Krishna and Karla McKanders

Each year, CLEA's Per Diem Project collects donations to support the community that is hosting the AALS Clinical Conference. Although it began with the collective donation of clinicians’ per diem allowances, the Project has evolved into a broader fundraising initiative. Since 2003, the CLEA Per Diem Project has raised tens of thousands of dollars to support the work of legal services providers nationwide.


Terms of ServicePrivacy Policy  |  Site Map  

© 2011 Clinical Legal Education Association 

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software